Healthy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Muffins #FitnessFriday

So I guess this is a sort of not very fitness-y first #FitnessFriday post. I haven’t quite fleshed out exactly what I want to say on my original idea.

Instead I’ll share with you all one of my favorite muffin recipes! I took this from a recipe on Taste of Home. The original poster said they found the recipe and changed a bunch of stuff. Well I also changed a bunch of ingredients!

I love anything chocolate related so the fact that this was like an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie in muffin form excited me. Muffins are one of my favorite breakfast foods, all though they’re not the healthiest. I try to alter recipes as much as I can to increase their health factor, such as using whole wheat flour and replacing as much butter as I can. For this recipe I even threw in some flax seed. Then I enjoy them with my drink of choice (usually water) and a bowl of plain Greek yogurt.

Because I currently live in a dorm, I don’t have an easily accessible oven. I am planning on working out a microwaveable single serve version of this!

This recipe will make 12 standard muffins. They also freeze/refrigerate really well, so you could always make a double batch and save some for a morning when you’re in a rush. Feel free to substitute the chocolate chips for whatever you’d like. Blueberries or raspberries would probably be really yummy!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Muffins

Ingredients

1/4 cup grape seed oil

1/4 cup butter

3/4 cup of your favorite sugar (I use Monkfruit in the Raw)

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup applesauce

1 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup flax seed

3/4 cup chocolate chips (I use dark chocolate because it’s healthier!)

Directions

1. In a large bowl, cream butter, oil, and sugar.

2. Beat in egg and vanilla.

3. Combine dry ingredients up to salt.

4. Add alternately with applesauce to the creamed mixture.

5. Stir in oats, flax seed, and chocolate chips.

6. Fill paper-lined muffin cups 3/4 full.

7. Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-20 mins.

Sorry I don’t have a picture. Apparently I never took one of these. Next time I make them I’ll update!

Leave a Reply

