Negative Space Chevron Nail Art (Sort-of) for Formal #StyleSaturdays

So this is how I wanted to do my nails for formal last week.

20150509_105549

But I ran out of time and literally swiped one coat of the mint color and one coat of matte 20 mins before we left. I had bought a Revlon nail polish the night before and planned on doing it then, but when I went to use it it came out all watery and gross.

So the morning of I ran to the nearby e.l.f. store and got one of their 3-Free nail polishes in Mint Cream. (Side note, mint is my color of the season, apparently. Everything I end up picking out is that color.) e.l.f. makes amazing nail polish! It cost me $2.18 with tax and has the quality ad lasting power of Essie and OPI. So good.

I wanted to actually execute my original plan so a few days later I got to work. Along with the e.l.f. polish I also used:

20150509_105540

Essie Ridge Filling base coat

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

Essie Matte About You Top Coat

20150506_231802

I also used some striping tape to get the negative space.

20150506_231814

So the second thing I did was cut striping tape and place it onto my base coat prepped nails. This took awhile because I kept playing perfectionist so it’s best to give the base coat time to dry properly.

20150506_232531

Then I slathered on the Mint Cream polish (2 coats) and let it sit for a few minutes before carefully lifting up the tape.

20150507_120040

After cleaning up the edges and the chevrons with a small brush and nail polish remover, I put on a coat of Seche Vite. So this is what they look like shiny, and the matte ones are the first picture. I can’t decide if I like it better shiny (is the term actually glossy?) or matte. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

